Lelong Lelong di Tanah Abang~ Jakarta Trip

As you all know budget is ultimately the top priority for all BTBs…
I so do not want to burst my budget and takot of overspending…

So I planned a getaway to Jakarta for a short break + cari kain expedition!
Mission is to get my bridesmaid cloth, kain nikah, kain/lace gown, family kain…
This idea of travelling to Jakarta was decided in early January, and we have planned to go ahead in CNY 4 days holiday break…

You would say that I would not save money but spend more so let me show a breakdown of how much I have spend in Jakarta for everything including my accomodation, transportation, food and lodging. At the same time holiday plus having my side agenda of shopping.

pic 1pic 2

Do not mind the super selekeh babats self, most importantly the super nice lace and songkets as displayed.

Costing spend in Jakarta
Lion Air flight: return flight
$160
Accomodation: 4D3N, 3 bedroom apartment shared by 6 pax
$100/pax
Bridesmaids blouse top, red chiffon, 20.5 meters in total(10 pax):
$28
Bridesmaids bottom, bronze glittered satin, 20.5 meters in total (10 pax):
$23
Bride/Groom songket, 8 meters in total:
$33
Bride/Groom bridal satin, 8 meters in total:
$24
Bride patterned white cloth, 2.5 meters in total:
$15
Bride silver lace, 2.5 meters in total:
$15
Bride white lace, 3 meters in total:
$17
Family lace + lining, 28 meters in total (3 pax):
$350
Total amount of $750

Do a comparison, I have surveyed Arab street, where normal satin lining cost $5/meter so can you imagine for 20.5 meters is already SGD 100++ not inclusive of tax.

I have saved probably 1/2 of the cost of the amount spend in Singapore itself, not inclusive of taxi rides. I got 3-in-1 experience in Jakarta, good food, holiday plus shopping!! Siapa yang tak suka kan,ladies being ladies. I even had to control my Mom from overspending, it was the wholesale super Awesome EXPERIENCE.  Of course as well, I did not declare I am SINGAPOREAN! because they will just ketuk you on the harga without even giving discount. Thank god, I can speak bahasa very well, Melayu berterabur Indon bole lak berbual…must be the darah jawa emerging…pakcik security nak tipu duit pun da kene maki abis-abis…So tips for future BTBs travelling to Bandung or Jakarta, please declare you are from KL/Msia and do not discuss openly conversion rates. Kalau nak disguise, disguise all the waaaay…

So for BTBs, please research the materials you want to spend on and if you ade lebih ongkos nya, bisa aja langsung ke Jakarta. 🙂 🙂

6 thoughts on “Lelong Lelong di Tanah Abang~ Jakarta Trip

  1. Hi! Oh my, that was a pretty good breakdown of all your expenses and pretty reasonable as well! Can you share where did you go to buy the cloths all? I was also thinking about going, since its so much cheaper!!

    Thank you in advance!

    1. Dear..you shud go if u have the extra budget..it is definitely worth it… i went to Gedung Tanah Abang..you jus say to the taxi tanah abang and they will sure know where just alight at block A…they are really really hugeeee 5x of vivo…Block A basement is where all the kain ela is…. there is pasar baru as well but i did not manage to go dere..

      1. OMG 5x vivo?!!! okay I will write all of this down! I am in need of a holiday also so Im thinking of lugging my gf there to borong also. ehehehe thanks eh babe!
        Dont mind if I link u to my blog??? ((:

Leave a Reply

